- NBR - The National Bureau of Asian Research


NBR’s operations are governed by the Board of Directors, a nationally prominent group of leaders with long-term interests in the Asia-Pacific region. The Counselor is NBR's most senior advisory position, counseling the Board of Directors and President and providing guidance to NBR programs. NBR’s research agenda is developed in consultation with the Board of Advisors, which consists of experts from research centers, universities, and corporations.

Board of Directors Counselors Board of Advisors

Lawrence W. Clarkson

Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, The Boeing Company (Ret.)

Lawrence W. Clarkson has served on NBR's Board of Directors since 1993. Mr. Clarkson retired from the Boeing Company in 1999 from his position as President of Boeing Enterprises, the division that includes Boeing Business Jets, Flight Safety Boeing Training International, and Boeing Modification and Engineering Services. He played a key role in introducing a new strategic-planning process, and represented the company at an international level. The New York Times described him in December 1996 as “the closest thing [Boeing] has to a corporate secretary of state.” He served in this position from January 1992 until February 1997, first as Vice President and then, from April 1994 on, as Senior Vice President. He was also a member of the Boeing Executive Council from 1992 to 1997.

Mr. Clarkson joined Boeing in January 1988 as Commercial Airplanes’ Senior Vice President of Government and International Affairs after a twenty-year career with Pratt & Whitney, where he became the youngest president of Pratt’s Commercial Jet-Engine Division.

Mr. Clarkson is Chairman of the U.S. Pacific Basin Economic Council and the National Center for Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation. He is Director of several other international and industry organizations, and is past President of both the Washington State China Relations Council and the Japan-America Society of Washington, and a past Vice President of the Wings Club. Mr. Clarkson is Chairman of the Seattle Opera and the Interlochen Center for the Arts and is on the board of the Corporate Council for the Arts.

Holding a bachelor’s degree from DePauw University and a juris doctorate degree from the University of Florida, Mr. Clarkson is a member of the Florida Bar Association and serves as a trustee of DePauw University and as an Overseer of the Amos Tuck School at Dartmouth College. In 1998 he received DePauw’s highest honor, the Old Gold Goblet, an annual award for “eminence in life’s work and service to the alma mater.”

Charles W. Brady Board Room

Board of Directors


Charles W. Brady
Chairman Emeritus
Invesco, Ltd

Chairman Emeritus

George F. Russell, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus
Russell Investments

Vice Chairman and Treasurer

John V. Rindlaub
President, Asia Pacific
Wells Fargo & Company

Vice Chairman

George Davidson
Vice Chairman, Mergers and Acquisitions,

Board of Directors

Thomas W. Albrecht
Sidley Austin LLP

Admiral Dennis C. Blair
U.S. Navy (Ret.)

Lawrence W. Clarkson
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, The Boeing Company (Ret.)

Norman D. Dicks
Senior Policy Advisor
Van Ness Feldman, LLP

Richard J. Ellings
The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR)

Thomas E. Fisher
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, Unocal Corporation (Ret.)

Mark Jones
Managing Director, Head of Wells Fargo Securities Asia Pacific
Wells Fargo Securities Asia Limited
Wells Fargo & Company

Joachim Kempin
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, Microsoft Corporation (Ret.)

Clark S. Kinlin
Honorary Member of the Board
President and Chief Executive Officer, Corning Cable Systems
Corning Incorporated

Ryo Kubota
Chairman, President, and CEO
Acucela Inc.

Quentin W. Kuhrau
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

Maria Livanos Cattaui
Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Regina Mayor
Principal, Global Sector Head and U.S. National Sector Leader of Energy and Natural Resources

Melody Meyer
Melody Meyer Energy LLC

Joseph M. (Joe) Naylor
Vice President of Policy, Government and Public Affairs
Chevron Corporation

C. Michael Petters
President and Chief Executive Officer
Huntington Ingalls Industries (HII)

Kenneth B. Pyle
Professor; Founding President
University of Washington; The National Bureau of Asian Research

Jonathan Roberts
Founder & Partner
Ignition Partners

Tom Robertson
Vice President and Deputy General Counsel
Microsoft Corporation

Matt Salmon
Vice President of Government Affairs
Arizona State University

Gordon M. Smith
Chief Operating Officer
Exact Staff, Inc.

Scott Stoll
Ernst & Young LLP

David K.Y. Tang
Managing Partner, Asia
K&L Gates LLP


Please visit the page Remembering Herbert J. Ellison (October 3, 1929–October 9, 2012) to learn about longtime former board member Herbert J. Ellison, Professor Emeritus, University of Washington, who played an instrumental role in the founding of NBR in 1989.

Please visit the page In Honor of General John M. Shalikashvili (June 27, 1936–July 23, 2011) to learn about longtime former board member John M. Shalikashvili, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff (Retired).