MAP Leadership & Experts

The project brings together leading experts on the maritime, air, and space domains to critically assess issues related to maritime security in the Asia-Pacific.

Our networked approach is fundamentally inclusive and collaborative. The principal investigator, M. Taylor Fravel, oversees the research efforts of a core group of leading international analysts—experts from a diverse set of institutions and political backgrounds. Where disagreements emerge, the principal investigator and project team seek to accurately reflect all positions by giving participants an opportunity to contribute analyses and data to the initiative. At the same time, the team works to ensure factual accuracy.

Project Leadership Committee

M. Taylor Fravel, Principal Investigator

Richard J. Ellings, Project Committee Advisory Member

Admiral Dennis C. Blair, USN (ret.), Project Committee Advisory Member

Project Team

John S. Van Oudenaren, Assistant Director, Political and Security Affairs, NBR

Karolos J. Karnikis, Technical Director

Roy D. Kamphausen, Project Advisor

International Expert Panel

Rommel Banlaoi, Philippine Institute for Peace, Violence and Terrorism Research

Ja Ian Chong, National University of Singapore

Mikkal Herberg, The National Bureau of Asian Research

Nong Hong, Institute for China-America Studies

James Kraska, U.S. Naval War College

Tabitha Mallory, The National Bureau of Asian Research

James Manicom, Independent Scholar

Rory Medcalf, Australian National University

Shafiah Muhibat, Centre for Strategic and International Studies, Indonesia

Justin Nankivell, Daniel K. Inouye Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies

Kerry Lynn Nankivell, Daniel K. Inouye Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies

Hong Thao Nguyen, Vietnam National University

Sumathy Permal, Maritime Institute of Malaysia

Ryo Sahashi, Kanagawa University; Japan Center for International Exchange

Ian J. Storey, ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute