Pacific Maritime Security and Challenges for the U.S. and ROK Navies


The United States and South Korea pledged in 2021 to work to strengthen maritime law enforcement capabilities and interoperability among partners in the Pacific. Korea’s New Southern Policy (NSP) and the U.S. Free and Open Indo-Pacific (FOIP) strategy both offer tools for such joint engagement. However, there is room to significantly expand cooperation between the countries’ navies to promote security and stability in the Western Pacific. To address this, the National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR) and the Korean Institute for Maritime Strategy (KIMS) will convene four distinguished panelists on November 30 at 7 p.m. EST (December 1 at 9 a.m. KST) to explore opportunities for enhanced naval collaboration within the framework of the U.S.-ROK alliance.

Event Details
Virtual Event

November 30 at 7 p.m. EST
(December 1 at 9 a.m. KST)

Please RSVP to attend.

RSVP


7:00 p.m. EST / 9:00 a.m. KST | OPENING REMARKS


Chung Eui-sung, Korea Institute for Maritime Strategy


7:05 p.m. EST / 9:05 a.m. KST | SPEAKER ROUNDTABLE


Kim Sung-han, Korea University
Alison Szalwinski, The National Bureau of Asian Research
Park Won-gon, Ewha Womans University
Terence Roehrig, U.S. Naval War College


7:45 p.m. EST / 9:45 a.m. KST | MODERATED DISCUSSION AND Q&A


Moderator
Michael Wills, The National Bureau of Asian Research


8:25 p.m. EST / 10:25 a.m. KST | CLOSING REMARKS


Roy Kamphausen, The National Bureau of Asian Research

Chung Sam-man, Korea Institute for Maritime Strategy


8:30 p.m. EST / 10:30 a.m. KST | ADJOURN


About Speakers

Chung Eui-sung is the Chairman of Korea Institute for Maritime Strategy.

Chung Sam-man is a retired ROK Navy captain and currently works as director of the maritime security center at the Korea Institute for Maritime Strategy.

Roy Kamphausen is President of The National Bureau of Asian Research.

Kim Sung-han is Professor of International Relations at Korea University and Director of Ilmin International Relations Institute.

Park Won-gon is an Associate Professor in the Department of North Korean Studies at Ewha Womans University.

Terence Roehrig is Professor of National Security Affairs at the U.S. Naval War College and a non-resident expert at the Center for Korean Legal Studies at Columbia University.

Alison Szalwinski is Vice President of Research at the National Bureau of Asian Research.

Michael Wills is Executive Vice President at the National Bureau of Asian Research.