- NBR - The National Bureau of Asian Research

Asia Policy

NBR is establishing a consortium of leading Asian research institutions and universities to support and extend the reach of Asia Policy, facilitating the exchange of regional and U.S. perspectives. NBR is pleased to have the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS) at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore, the College of Asia and the Pacific at the Australian National University, and the Center for Energy Governance and Security at Hanyang University in South Korea as consortium partners. For more information about the consortium, please contact

Asia Policy is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal presenting policy-relevant academic research on the Asia-Pacific that draws clear and concise conclusions useful to today’s policymakers.

Beginning in 2018 with volume 13, Asia Policy will be published quarterly in January, April, July, and October.

Learn More Click

Asia Policy Editors:

C. Christine Fair

Mark W. Frazier

Asia Policy Submission GuidelinesClick

Asia Policy Publications Ethics StatementClick

Asia Policy Editorial BoardClick

Asia Policy 2 (July 2006)

The second issue of NBR’s new peer-reviewed journal, Asia Policy, includes essays on North Korean security policy, the politics of standards setting in China, religious violence in Thailand, and making peace in the Taiwan Strait.

Table of Contents

Special Roundtables
Special Roundtable: What If? Economic Implications of a Fundamental Shift in North Korean Security Policy
Nicholas Eberstadt, Richard J. Ellings, Bradley Babson and Marcus Noland

The Political Economy of Standards Coalitions: Explaining China’s Involvement in High-Tech Standards Wars
Scott Kennedy

The PRC’s Evolving Standards System: Institutions and Strategy
Chaoyi Zhao and John M. Graham

International Jihad and Muslim Radicalism in Thailand? Toward an Alternative Interpretation
Joseph Chinyong Liow

Book Review Roundtable
Richard C. Bush’s Untying the Knot: Making Peace in the Taiwan Strait
Allen Carlson, Derek Mitchell, Lyle Goldstein, Dan Blumenthal, Mark Williams, Steven M. Goldstein and Richard C. Bush