IP COMMISSION

THE COMMISSION ON THE THEFT OF AMERICAN INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Washington, DC March 8, 2018 Contact: Dan Aum Media Relations Office: 202.347.9767 media@IPCommission.org

The Theft of Up to \$600 Billion of American IP Annually Calls for a Decisive Response, Says IP Commission

WASHINGTON, D.C. | The Commission on the Theft of American Intellectual Property (IP Commission) released a new set of policy recommendations as the Trump administration considers appropriate actions in its Section 301 investigation of China's involvement in the theft of American intellectual property (IP) and forced technology transfer. The Executive Director of the IP Commission, Dr. Richard Ellings, testified at the <u>Section 301 hearing</u> in October 2017. In its <u>2017 report</u>, the IP Commission estimated that the cost to the U.S. economy from counterfeit goods, pirated software, and the theft of trade secrets could be as high as \$600 billion annually. The new recommendations include the following:

- Use and expand the authority of the executive branch to deny access to the U.S. market and banking system to Chinese and other foreign companies that steal and benefit from stolen American IP.
- Create new national policy centers that coordinate efforts across relevant agencies, including the Department of Commerce and the Department of Treasury, to monitor and protect American IP.
- Establish multilateral policy dialogues with Japan, the European Union, Australia, South Korea, Singapore, and other states that share interests in protecting IP to strengthen policies to harmonize national, legal, and regulatory frameworks and to share information.

To see the full list of recommendations click here.

"We urge the administration to adopt these recommendations and place the protection of our nation's intellectual property at the top of U.S. national security concerns, starting with overhauling CFIUS [Committee on Foreign Investment in the United States]," said Admiral Dennis Blair, Co-chair of the IP Commission.

We must establish a strong, coordinated national strategy to combat the theft of our nation's intellectual property," added Dr. Ellings. "The United States' past policy responses have been too slow, too weak, and too unstructured to stop the hemorrhaging of our intellectual property to foreign entities seeking to capitalize from our hard work, research, discoveries, and inventions."

The following experts are available for interviews upon request:

• Admiral Dennis C. Blair, Co-chair of the IP Commission; chairman of the board and distinguished senior fellow at the Sasakawa Peace Foundation USA; former commander of the U.S. Pacific Command; and former U.S. director of national intelligence

- **Dr. Richard Ellings**, Executive Director of the IP Commission; President of the National Bureau of Asian Research
- **Roy Kamphausen**, Deputy Director of the IP Commission; Senior Vice President for Research at the National Bureau of Asian Research

About the IP Commission

The Commission on the Theft of American Intellectual Property is an independent and bipartisan initiative of leading Americans from the private sector, public service in national security and foreign affairs, academia, and politics.

About the Commissioners

Co-chairs:

- Admiral Dennis C. Blair, Co-chair of the IP Commission; chairman of the board and distinguished senior fellow at the Sasakawa Peace Foundation USA; former commander of the U.S. Pacific Command; and former U.S. director of national intelligence
- **Craig Barrett**, former Chairman and CEO of Intel Corporation

Other Commissioners:

- **Dr. Charles W. Boustany Jr.**, Chair of the Center for Innovation, Trade, and Strategy at the National Bureau of Asian Research; former six-term U.S. Representative from Louisiana
- Slade Gorton, former U.S. Senator from Washington State, member of 9/11 Commission
- William J. Lynn III, CEO of Leonardo North America and DRS Technologies
- **Deborah Wince-Smith**, President and CEO of the Council on Competitiveness
- Michael K. Young, President of Texas A&M University

Media inquiries: (202) 347-9767 or media@IPCommission.org