- NBR - The National Bureau of Asian Research


NBR’s operations are governed by the Board of Directors, a nationally prominent group of leaders with long-term interests in the Asia-Pacific region. The Counselor is NBR's most senior advisory position, counseling the Board of Directors and President and providing guidance to NBR programs. NBR’s research agenda is developed in consultation with the Board of Advisors, which consists of experts from research centers, universities, and corporations.

Board of Directors Counselors Board of Advisors

George F. Russell, Jr.

Chairman Emeritus
Russell Investments

George F. Russell, Jr. has served on NBR’s Board of Directors since 1993 and was Chairman for thirteen of those years. Internationally known as an advocate for narrowing the gap between the “haves” and the “have nots”, George has a focus on a number of challenges: the promotion of globalization…the destruction of nuclear waste…strengthening U.S.-Russian relations…ground-level humanitarian projects…and bridging the current divide between Muslims and non-Muslims in America.

George built Frank Russell Company from one part-time secretary in 1958 to become one of the world’s leading investment advisory firms. He served as chairman from 1958 until the firm was sold to Northwestern Mutual Life in 1999. Today, the company guides over 1,900 clients in 44 countries with assets exceeding more than $2.4 trillion, and manages $171 billion in funds. The company is often recognized by the stock market index The Russell 2000, which is one of a large number of Russell indexes around the world, many more than any other index group offers.

A native of Tacoma, Washington, George pioneered the business of pension fund consulting in the late 1960s. He is a well-known advocate of diversified global investing and, along with Warren Buffett, was named in 1993 by Pensions & Investments as one of the four most influential people in the world of institutional investing. He received the CFA Institute’s Thomas L. Hansberger Leadership in Global Investing Award in 2008, and in 2009 was presented with the Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service.

George and Jane, his late wife, led a growing economic development effort in their hometown of Tacoma, and were active supporters of education and the arts. Their civic leadership has resulted in many honors. They jointly received the prestigious E. Donnell Thomas “Medal of Achievement” from the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, recognizing their inspirational leadership and world vision in 1997. They were the couple behind the creation of the internationally recognized Museum of Glass in Tacoma.

Currently, George is Chairman and Founder of One Nation, a project working to change the perceptions of Islam and Muslims in America, Chairman of the Nuclear Fuel Cycle Technologies, Inc., The Russell Family Foundation and the Threshold Group. He is Honorary Co-Chair of the Business Humanitarian Forum, Board Member of Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and a member of the International Advisor Board of the University of Peace. George is Chairman Emeritus of the EastWest Institute (EWI), The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR), Museum of Glass, Russell 20-20 and Russell Investments.

Charles W. Brady Board Room

Board of Directors


Charles W. Brady
Chairman Emeritus
Invesco, Ltd

Chairman Emeritus

George F. Russell, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus
Russell Investments

Vice Chairman and Treasurer

John V. Rindlaub
President, Asia Pacific
Wells Fargo & Company

Vice Chairman

George Davidson
Vice Chairman, Mergers and Acquisitions,

Board of Directors

Thomas W. Albrecht
Sidley Austin LLP

Admiral Dennis C. Blair
U.S. Navy (Ret.)

Lawrence W. Clarkson
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, The Boeing Company (Ret.)

Norman D. Dicks
Senior Policy Advisor
Van Ness Feldman, LLP

Richard J. Ellings
The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR)

Thomas E. Fisher
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, Unocal Corporation (Ret.)

Mark Jones
Managing Director, Head of Wells Fargo Securities Asia Pacific
Wells Fargo Securities Asia Limited
Wells Fargo & Company

Joachim Kempin
Honorary Member of the Board
Senior Vice President, Microsoft Corporation (Ret.)

Clark S. Kinlin
Honorary Member of the Board
President and Chief Executive Officer, Corning Cable Systems
Corning Incorporated

Ryo Kubota
Chairman, President, and CEO
Acucela Inc.

Quentin W. Kuhrau
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

Maria Livanos Cattaui
Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Regina Mayor
Principal, Global Sector Head and U.S. National Sector Leader of Energy and Natural Resources

Melody Meyer
Melody Meyer Energy LLC

Joseph M. (Joe) Naylor
Vice President of Policy, Government and Public Affairs
Chevron Corporation

C. Michael Petters
President and Chief Executive Officer
Huntington Ingalls Industries (HII)

Kenneth B. Pyle
Professor; Founding President
University of Washington; The National Bureau of Asian Research

Jonathan Roberts
Founder & Partner
Ignition Partners

Tom Robertson
Vice President and Deputy General Counsel
Microsoft Corporation

Matt Salmon
Vice President of Government Affairs
Arizona State University

Gordon M. Smith
Chief Operating Officer
Exact Staff, Inc.

Scott Stoll
Ernst & Young LLP

David K.Y. Tang
Managing Partner, Asia
K&L Gates LLP


Please visit the page Remembering Herbert J. Ellison (October 3, 1929–October 9, 2012) to learn about longtime former board member Herbert J. Ellison, Professor Emeritus, University of Washington, who played an instrumental role in the founding of NBR in 1989.

Please visit the page In Honor of General John M. Shalikashvili (June 27, 1936–July 23, 2011) to learn about longtime former board member John M. Shalikashvili, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff (Retired).